Accessibility and Contact Us
Close Icon
Close Icon
Toggle Mobile Menu Visibility

Spotlight on pupils at Stellar Awards 2019

The Stellar Awards celebrate educational excellence in West Lothian, with awards handed out in categories recognising achievements covering all aspects of the education curriculum.

01 October
Stellar 2019

Pupils and students were joined by teachers, council staff, carers and parents for an afternoon of entertainment and achievement at West Calder High School on Friday 20 September.

On the day prizes were handed out in categories including, academic achievement, foundation apprentice of the year, STEM, literacy, the creative arts, numeracy, sport, health and wellbeing and groups and community heroes were acknowledged. This year's ceremony featured a new category for West Lothian's Young Writer of the Year.

The event was compered by James Cameron, West Lothian Council's Head of Education (Learning, Policy and Resources) with a stunning dance performance from West Calder High School pupil, Ellie Fergusson who won the BBC show the Greatest Dancer earlier this year.

Executive councillor for education, David Dodds said: "The Stellar Awards allow us to turn the spotlight on the excellent work taking place in schools across West Lothian and are undoubtedly the highlight of the year.

"Huge congratulations to all the pupils and students who won trophies at this year's Stellar Awards, they are a credit to their families and school communities and all should be very proud.  We would also like to thank everyone involved in running the event and a say a special thank you to the pupils and staff of West Calder High School for being such magnificent hosts. They all helped to make the Stellar Awards a very special afternoon for our pupils and students."

Roll of honour:

Attainment Award - Pierre Lardet (Linlithgow Academy), Adam Harris (Armadale Academy), Danielle Catlin (Linlithgow Academy) and Fiona Campbell (St Kentigern's Academy) 

Foundation Apprentice of the Year - Aaron Charge

STEM Award - Lennox Stuart (Inveralmond Community High School)

Literacy Award -  Literacy Group (Dedridge Primary School) and the Literacy Group (St Margaret's Academy)

The Creative Arts Award - Erin Ennis (St Kentigern's Academy) and Strictly Come Pinewood (Pinewood Primary School)  

Numeracy Award - Josh Morrison (Inveralmond Community High School) and Numeracy Group (Williamston Primary)

Sports Award - West Lothian Schools Under 15 Football Team  

Health and Wellbeing Award - Be Herd (Whitburn Academy)

Community Heroes Award - Emma Bisset (Williamston Primary School) and Dignity Boxes (Armadale Academy)

Young Writer of the Year -  Lewis Dickie (Murrayfield Primary School)  


Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon email icon


print icon