21 August
WLC Logo Placeholder image

The introduction of new temporary speed limits will commence across West Lothian on Monday 24th August.

Existing speed limits in towns and villages will be temporarily reduced to 20mph and 40mph limits will also be introduced in some of the rural areas such as the Bathgate Hills and around Winchburgh and Harburn. Signage will be erected to indicate where these new limits are in place.

Police Scotland are fully supportive of the proposals and a Police spokesperson advised that "The implementation of these temporary speed limits will help in reducing speeds in towns, villages and on the rural road network in West Lothian.  This will make these areas safer for pedestrians and vulnerable road users and will assist in providing a safer environment for all.  We welcome the introduction of these temporary measures in West Lothian"

A programme of vegetation clearance works on existing cyclepaths and footways will also commence on Monday 24th August. This maintenance work will involve cutting back both overhanging foliage and verges on key routes in order to improve path widths for walkers and cyclists.

These works are to be followed over the next few weeks with the introduction of physical distancing measures at some of the more heavily used bus stops and narrow footways within towns. The improvements will make it easier for users to social distance at pinch points.

Physical distancing signage, to remind people of the importance of social distancing, has been designed and arranged for town centres and villages.  Signs will start going up during September.

All the temporary changes will be kept under review.

Executive Councillor for the Environment Tom Conn said: "We hope that the latest measures to be introduced as part of our Spaces for People project continue to bring benefits for people as they travel around West Lothian. A reduction in speed limits in town centres and villages will help protect road users and pedestrians alike and encourage active travel be it walking or cycling. Some countryside roads are included in this update and this should hopefully give greater confidence to those walkers and cyclists who wish to travel in these areas.

It is also important that those walking in our town and village centres are also able to suitably distance as they go about their day. It is anticipated that an element of social distancing will be required in our public spaces for the foreseeable future and therefore these measures will provide a greater flexibility to make this achievable."

A full list of areas where where temporary 20mph speed limits will be introduced through the Spaces for People programme can be seen below:

  • Addiewell
  • Armadale
  • Bathgate
  • Bents
  • Blackridge
  • Breich
  • Bridgend
  • Bridgehouse
  • Broxburn
  • Dechmont
  • East Calder
  • Ecclesmachan
  • Faucheldean
  • Fauldhouse
  • Greenrigg
  • Kirknewton
  • Linlithgow
  • Linlithgow Bridge
  • Longridge
  • Mid Calder
  • Newton
  • Philpstoun
  • Polbeth
  • Pumpherston
  • Seafield
  • Stoneyburn
  • Torphichen
  • Uphall
  • Uphall Station
  • West Calder
  • Westfield
  • Whitburn
  • Winchburgh