25 May
Cllr Lawrence Fitzpatrick

Labour has retained control of West Lothian Council with a minority administration. The decisions were taken at the first meeting of West Lothian Council on Tuesday 24 May 2022. 

West Lothian Council has 33 Elected Members representing nine wards. 

Councillor Lawrence Fitzpatrick was named as Leader of the Council, with Councillor Kirsteen Sullivan appointed as Depute Leader.

Councillor Cathy Muldoon has been appointed as Provost, with Councillor Peter Heggie named as Depute Provost.

Nine councillors have been appointed with responsibility for Executive posts.

  • Policy and Resources - Councillor Lawrence Fitzpatrick
  • Culture and Leisure - Councillor Craig Meek
  • Development and Transport - Councillor Kirsteen Sullivan
  • Education - Councillor Andrew McGuire
  • Environment - Councillor Tom Conn
  • Health and Care - Councillor Anne McMillan 
  • Services for the Community - Councillor George Paul
  • Social Policy - Councillor Danny Logue
  • Voluntary Organisations - Councillor Tony Pearson

Councillor Fitzpatrick was first elected to West Lothian Council in 1999 having previously worked in the Housing sector for over 25 years.  He was born in Whitburn and has lived in Livingston with his wife, Margaret, for over 45 years. He has one daughter.   

This is Councillor Fitzpatrick's second term as Leader of West Lothian Council.

Council Leader Lawrence Fitzpatrick said:

"I am born and bred in West Lothian. West Lothian is my home and it is an honour and a privilege to be named Council Leader. I am committed to working with partners to improve the lives of West Lothian's residents and will do everything I can to protect and enhance local services."

"I am very much looking forward to the opportunity of serving as Leader of West Lothian Council once again."

Cllr Kirsteen Sullivan
Depute Leader Kirsteen Sullivan lives in Bathgate with her husband and their three children. She previously worked as a Business Analyst in the Financial Services industry. 

She was elected as a councillor in the Whitburn and Blackburn ward in 2017 and has served as Depute Leader since 2017.

She added: "I am delighted to have once again been nominated and selected to serve as Depute Leader of West Lothian Council. I will work with everyone to help protect and improve local services in West Lothian improve the lives of West Lothian residents."